Dean of Academic Life

Academic Life

Prestigious Awards Initiative

The Prestigious Awards Initiative seeks to assist undergraduates and recent graduates engage in a process of reflection upon their education, inside and outside the classroom, their values, and their life goals in order to enhance success in applying for opportunities that will enable them to realize their goals (e.g. nationally prestigious awards such as NFSs or Fulbrights, graduate or professional study).

Opportunities include significant student research and presentation, study abroad, and meaningful volunteer and service-learning work. The process acknowledges the different levels of readiness of students, from first year through postgraduate. Included are many opportunities to work with faculty awards advisors and the Dean, including an intensive mock application and interview program during the Junior year, whose reward is a $1000 Presidential Scholarship.   Since the inception of the Initiative, over 130 awards have been earned by Muhlenberg students and recent graduates.

Whether students receive an award or not, the process has helped all students get to know themselves better and present themselves better in future competitions and in postgraduate careers.

Close work with faculty who teach, advise, and inspire these students is central to success. I deeply appreciate the extraordinary efforts of dedicated faculty in this enterprise, as they continue to work closely with students as classroom instructors, independent study research advisors, and award advisors.


2013 - 2014

Barry M. Goldwater - The program awards up to $7,500 annually for a maximum of two years to students with a demonstrated commitment to a career in science or math, excluding medical school.  Joseph Keane, Chemistry, is the advisor to the Goldwater.

James Custer, Jr. ’15.  Honorable Mention.  James is majoring in Chemistry and pursuing a minor in Mathematics. He is a Dana Scholar.

Macauley Breault ’15.  Honorable Mention.  Macauley is majoring in Physical Science and Mathematics.  She is a Dana Scholar.

J. William Fulbright - The Fulbright is the flagship international exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.  There are teaching (ETA) Fulbrights and study Fulbrights.  The award subsidizes one year’s teaching or study abroad.  Chris Herrick, Political Science, is the advisor to the Fulbright.

Mallory Bernstein ’14.  Mallory majored in Chemistry and minored in Public Health.

James Madison - The program awards fellowships for master's degree level graduate study of the framing and history of the United States Constitution.  Lynda Yankaskas, History, is the current advisor to the Madison.  Daniel Wilson, History, assisted with the mock application during the student's Junior year.

Evan McLaughlin ’10.  Evan majored in History.  He won a President's Award for Outstanding Acheivement and Promise for Postgraduate in 2009.

Harry S. Truman - The Truman is a $30,000 scholarship for graduate study in preparation for a career in public service. Students are chosen because of outstanding leadership potential. Michele Moser Deegan, Political Science, is the advisor to the Truman.

Melanie Ferrara ’15.  Finalist.  Melanie is majoring in Philosophy/Political Thought and a self-designed major in Gender & Sexuality.  She is a Dana Scholar.